Madiba: Media Resources

e54te_445779001371043352To celebrate and commemorate the life and tremendous achievements of the late president Nelson Mandela, Wits University has compiled this resources page comprising of material and historical papers hosted in our archives. Below is also a list of commentators who can speak on the life and times of Madiba from a political, historical and cultural perspective.

Statement by Professor Adam Habib, Wits Vice-Chancellor.

MULTIMEDIA RESOURCES:

video produced and directed in recent years by Lieza Louw, Wits School of Arts, and featuring Prof. Phil Bonner from the Wits History Workshop.

For images of Nelson Mandela at Wits University – as a student, receiving his honorary doctorate and other visits, click here

Links to digitised archive material on Madiba. It is free and open for the public to view but some items may be subject to copyright and permission if it is to be republished. Permission can be obtained from Michele Pickover, Principal Curator: Archives and Digital Library, Historical Papers Research Archive on 27 11 717 1940 or email michele.pickover@wits.ac.za

WITS EXPERTS:

Prof. Sarah Nuttall (Mandela’s legacy)
Director: Wits Institute for Social and Economic Research
Email: sarah.nuttall@wits.ac.za
Cell: 27 82 887 7169
Tel: 27 11 717 4232

Prof. Achille Mbembe (Mandela’s life and times)
Wits Institute for Social and Economic Research
Email: achillembembe@hotmail.com or achille.mbembe@wits.ac.za
Cell: 27 71 265 9712
Tel: 27 11 717 4225

Prof. Adam Habib (Political analyst)
Wits Vice-Chancellor and Principal
Email: adam.habib@wits.ac.za
Cell: 27 83 301 6536
Tel: 27 11 717 1102

Associate Professor Noor Nieftagodien (Historical perspective)
Head: History Workshop at Wits
School of Social Sciences
Email: noor.nieftagodien@wits.ac.za
Cell: 27 82 457 4103
Tel: 27 11 717 4284

Prof. Daryl Glaser (Political perspective)
Head: Political Studies at Wits
School of Social Sciences
Email: daryl.glaser@wits.ac.za
Cell: 27 76 140 7340
Tel: 27 11 717 4373

He can speak on Madiba’s significance in relation to the achievement (or non-achievement) of values like liberty, democracy, social justice, shared prosperity and domestic peace; political controversies surrounding Mandela; his importance as a symbolic resource for the ANC and country; and the struggle by competing groups to appropriate his legacy.

Prof. Tawana Kupe (Mandela as an icon)
Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Finance and Operations
Email: tawana.kupe@wits.ac.za
Cell: 27 78 459 6041
Tel: 27 11 717 1141

Prof. Anton Harber
Head: Wits Journalism
Email: anton@harber.co.za
Cell: 083 303 9497

Tagged on: ,